My Transition into Tech (The journey so far)

My Transition into Tech (The journey so far)

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Hello everyone once again. My (full) names are Christian Nnaemeka Ogbodo.

This was supposed to be my first article on hashnode but the thought that it was going to be long one made me postpone it to now. Nonetheless I think this is a very perfect day and time to write tell this story. So as one of Nigeria's greatest pop singer by the name Innocent Idibia popularly known as (2face or 2baba) once said in his most popular song "Sit back, relax and listen to this introduction!".

I am from nkanu-west in Enugu state, Nigeria in western Africa. I am the second born and first son of four siblings. Which is I have an older sister who is the first born and two junior brothers which makes me the first son okay, right. I lived in Enugu state with my parents until I finished my secondary school. While in secondary school, I always had it in mind to study medicine or health related course due to my liking the doctors hand writing whenever I visit the hospital.

Upon completing secondary school and passing my O'level exams in 2012, I wrote some other university entrance examinations (POSTUTME). Meanwhile when I was in senior secondary year two, third semester, I had a terrible accident that had me in the hospital for almost three months but thank I survived and healed properly but before I could walk with my two legs normally I continued school on crutches. By the time I was done with secondary school I was already able to walk without support anymore.

While seeking admission into the university, I joined my friend at a market place called ogbete main market where you can get mobile phones and computers. His boss was selling mobile phone spare parts and I had a hp laptop my dad bought for me so I can go to the university with it. So my friend told me I can make money with it while I wait. I started going there everyday to help people with few issues like downloading music, videos and access to internet and even factory reset in case of phone malfunction. From there I also learnt how to repair phones and computers like change screen, charging port, keyboard and other things.

Finally, I got admission by then my dad had an issue, his office where he did his business caught fire and this was the second time in two years. Knowing fully well that my other siblings are also looking to gain admission into the university also, I stepped down my admission and I was able to convince that I can take care of myself, then he succumbed. Next couple of weeks, I walked up to my father and asked him if he knew anyone in Abuja the country's capital that I can stay with since I have the knowledge about phones and computers cause I heard the business is lucrative there. He told me yes that his cousin stays there and he was going to call him and ask if I can come to him and live with him. While I was waiting cause a burial was to hold in my village at a particular time that year in 2013, I went for another computer lesson to get a better knowledge about computer. There I learnt about MsDos, Desktop publishing and other stuffs. While I was learning, because I was picking up very fast I was given the privilege to teach other students while the tutor attended to other things. The D-day finally came in the month march 2013, after the burial, I packed my bag and I went with him at the early hours of that faithful day cause it was a long journey and that was my second time travelling to Abuja. The first was when my school went for a French national competition and I was among the team that won the state championship and we came third at the national level which we were all happy about.

On arrival to the nations capital it was a very happy day for me to finally dwell in a beautiful town like this. That night I slept and woke up, after One week, he introduced me to a cousin of mine I never knew I had, his name is Uche. He was into phone spare parts business that he learnt from his then boss. His shop was at the city center. So my uncle asked him to accommodate me and also teach me the business and how it's done in this part of Nigeria. That was how I lived and after a few years in 2016, it came to my consciousness that I wasn't doing what I intended for myself but by this time I had fallen in love with computers and that was all I ever want to do, no more health care or medicine but I still care for people in my own way but not through that as a career. So I went ahead and looked for admission and got one in the capital to study computer science and this will also give me leverage to study and work at the same time.

I then did all the necessary admission procedures and started classes. So the thing is you can choose a study center close to you that is convenient for your work and study schedule. After the first year I was getting positive vibes from the school, student portal will most times be down and one can't input there courses on time, exam time table will constantly be shifted all that plus my friends that were attending also started dropping or so I taught. I managed to get to third year and then corona virus (covid-19) lockdown came in April, 2020. I was already living on my own at the time. The school was no longer interesting for me to continue, I saw it as a waste of time and energy. After seven months the longer was lifted but by then I made some money well to think I can marry my girlfriend cause I was strictly doing home service and it has higher charges incurred. February 12, 2021 we did our traditional marriage. On the 13th we did our court and white wedding at her village in delta state. Few days later we came back to Abuja and started living as married couple. April of that same year, I got a call from an online school I was registered for before the wedding called Shaw academy which they later changed to Upskillist. They now gave me a discount to start the lesson on web development cause I always knew I needed something that will make me become useful to the society and the world at the large until a friend of mine told me in details about web development and how he too got into it after being retrenched by the bank he was previously working with. Then he too saw an advert online and went for the training and from there he took that path and up till this point I am writing this he never stopped. I knew earlier than 2020 about web development but I didn't know how to get into it and the one person that was supposed to tell me early enough was also facing his own challenges of survival so I relented until this my other friend came to my rescue and brought me into this path completely.

Then I started learning from Shaw academy with the discount they gave me. God was involved in that call cause I always prayed that He should show me the way to follow. There introduction was one of the best and most simple introductions I have ever seen with practical and the end of each lesson. I went on to take other courses from FreeCodeCamp, YouTube, JavaScript.info, google docs etc. Mostly especially my best site Frontendmentor.io that gives project ideas to practice and make yourself better at what you do.

So, if you made it this far in this wonderful piece, congratulations to you. Drink some water or coffee and just know that in whatever you do or however life turns you always keep in mind that place you want to be in life and continue to work in that direction and most importantly always remember to pray in whatever religion you are or practice, believe me you will get there and you will be happy that you did. The journey might be smooth to some and to some like myself it might not be but in all with faith in our hearts and mind we will definitely get to our destination. I for one, am still on this tech journey cause I am yet to get a proper job or internship say the least but I believe I will land one sooner than later.

Thank you all and peace. One love. I love you!!.